Selling Out for Think Piece

So let me go a little bit into Think Piece Productions. This is the lesser known hobby I have – well, as far as my internet presence goes.

I am a member of Think Piece Productions, which is a video production company in the top western corner of Washington State. We’re only wee and filming and editing live shows is our bread and butter. Oh yeah, and the other member of the company is my boyfriend, Toby.

I never count it as a job simply because it doesn’t make money, especially for what my “share” is. It’s something I enjoy from time to time, but ultimately, it’s not my focus, and so I don’t treat it as such.

Right, the introductions out of the way, onto the relative part:

Toby has been wanting to expand Think Piece Productions’ name into other areas of entertainment, such as event-throwing. It’s all fine and dandy, but I always get sucked into it, and I am not a party-thrower. That has never been my thing, and it just isn’t something I can’t give energy to. I’ve been known to volunteer for festivals, and have been known to be reliable as well, but there’s no organization on my part, it’s simply selling tickets and wrist bands at the door for a couple hours.

Before we both got laid off, Toby had acquired the position of Events Manager. In a month, he had booked over three months worth of events to be held at the coffee house. We were laid off a week before the first event.

However, they told him, in front of the soon-to-be-not-staff, that he could continue to throw the events in the coffee house space, even put the coffee machine to use, for no charge. We just have to supply…everything.

Tomorrow is the first event. It’s an art show with a an artist from Seattle who’s known among the Black List bands (There’s a community of musicians ( – In Seattle?? No way!) that have multiple members in multiple bands, sort of a musical incest if you will. This circle of musicians is called The Black List), a great many of which we have worked with. Robert Bauder, the artist, has done live paintings during performances, but has a really interesting and eclectic variety of pieces, a little something for everyone.

So, despite my very vocal bitterness toward our venue, I’ve been sucked into working. I am just running the coffee house. I’m not particularly looking forward to it – not because I don’t think it will be a good night – not at all! I think it will be a great night. I don’t want to do it purely because being on that property puts me in a pretty sour mood. I’ve spent ten minutes once a week there since we were laid off, and every time I just turn bitchy afterward.

The icing on the cake is that after the event, Toby wants to have a party at our house, which is just a couple miles down the road.

I do not approve.

I know, I sound like a fuddy-duddy, but really, it takes a lot out of me being at that location, I’m not the biggest fan of late nights, and recently I’ve been experiencing a touch of social anxiety. And to top it off, I really don’t want to clean up after a party.

Yep, that’s me, the sour puss.

The worst part is, after this great lament that I have laid upon the table here…one of the problem children that remained on staff at this place walked away yesterday, and they need someone to cover some shifts…guess who they called and guess who jumped on it. That’s right, Ol’ Muggins here.

Who’s got two thumbs and is a sell-out hypocrite?

This chick!

This one, Right here!

Image

2 thoughts on “Selling Out for Think Piece

  1. Pingback: A Think Piece Art NIght | Scribing English
  2. Pingback: Reality Check – Ouch! | Scribing English

Leave a Reply

