Inspirational Weekends – Wanderlust

I’d been avoiding it, knowing myself as I do. But one sites like this, you just can’t avoid it. You’re bound to come across them at some point, and then the itch will become unbearable, and it just has to be done.

Of course I’m talking about reading travel blogs. What else would I be talking about?

I have been stumbling across them, and my wanderlust is stirring. The need to do it myself, the need to experience the newness of the world, the differentness of other continents. I always say that I’m a traveler because I bounce back and forth between Wales, and have done my entire life. But I’m sure it doesn’t really count when you’re so familiar with both locations you call one Home and the other your Home Away From Home.

When I moved back to the states, I had a goal. That by the time I was 25 that I would have enough money to go backpacking through Asia. I was going to hit up Napal, India, Thailand, Vietnam and other parts of China. I was going to travel through it all on my own, in six months, and while I was at it, take a vow of silence, so that I could get the most from my experience, and turn it into a journey of self-discovery.

Now I’m getting into school? That’s the opposite of traveling. That’s almost like buying a house – it’s putting roots down.

I’ve always been afraid of being trapped. That’s part of the reason why it’s taken me so long to go back to school to begin with. It’s why I’ve never made big purchases, it’s why I’ve never done credit cards. Well, since I met my boyfriend that’s all gone out the window. But then again, I got the credit card because we were going to go to a festival in Egypt for the Winter Solstice, which is also my birthday, and was meant to be the day that the world ended (12.21.2012). The tickets were bought, the hostels were booked, but in the end it got a little to violent over there, and we had to cancel. We were going to make a documentary.

That was the last major travel plan I had. I’ve been to Wales twice since then, but as mentioned, it’s my home away from home, and I was visiting my grandmother.

I need some sort of adventure, I need to not be just surviving. I need to be living.

One thought on “Inspirational Weekends – Wanderlust

  1. Pingback: 100th Post | Scribing English

Leave a Reply

