Inspirational Weekend – What You’re Montra?

Inspirational Weekend - What You're Montra?

I am a very firm believer in Positive Affirmation. I have found that it works well for me, and I practice it regularly. There are different mantras for different situations, but I find the one that works best for me is something from the Thelema Order, and in fact, something that Aleister Crowley is known for.

Don’t let that put you off – as blackened a reputation Crowley may have, there were some good concepts that came from him, or rather, some good information he released into the world.

The one that I particularly am referring to is his greeting/response:

Greeting:
Do as thou Wilt shall be the whole of the Law

Response:
Love is the Law, Love under Will

No why on earth is that my mantra? It’s very simple – and I will make note there that this is my interpretation. Based off his publications that I have read (such as Diary of a Drug Fiend and Moon Child, his two works of fiction), I believe it to mean that the Will that he refers to is the driving force of a soul – the thing that brings a person to full fruition. Each person has a Will, a passion, that need, to do their Will.

Allow me to take a step or two back.

We know the verb to will, it can mean to enforce, to want, to do (future tense). However, the Will that I am speaking of, that Crowley writes about, that the Thelema Order teaches, is not a verb, but a noun, and a very powerful one at that. I personally have two words that I will capitalise each time I write them:  Universe and Will. They are as powerful of words as Om, God, Krishna, Jesus, Grace. 

If we want to get even deeper into it, into my metaphysical side, we can look into vibrations.

All matter is created of vibrations. All sound is created of vibrations. Vibrations correspond with a number, the symbol that represents them (this is touching on numerology). Did you know that planets sing? It’s true – because each planet is created of matter, which is compiled of vibrations. Sound, as I just mentioned, is created of vibration. All matter has a sound. And thus, each planet sings!

But I’m wandering off track here –

If everything is created of vibrations, and each thing vibrates at its own frequency (sort of like how each person might have a different color aura, or each person has their own voice), the vibrations interact with other vibrations. Sometimes they might resonate together very well, and a bond can form (ever meet those people you instantly get along with? Ever meet those people you instantly dislike? – that perhaps your vibrations are rubbing each other the wrong way?), or the vibrations may clash.

With each word that is said, it comes with its own vibrational frequency, some that might resonate well with you, some that do not. This is why Om has been so powerful in meditation. Its vibration projects out, it alters your vibrations and helps you achieve the centered state.

Where exactly am I going with this? I’m glad you asked!

Will is the same as Om to me – perhaps it doesn’t have the same effects, but it is just as powerful. To find one’s Will is to find their driving force, the thing that makes a person be, the light that leads a person along the path to happiness. For a long time, I thought my Will was to be an herbalist. However, as I went along that path, I found another passion that was nutrition. All along I have loved Traveling, and thought that to be my will. What about perhaps studying and practicing ancient traditions of mediation and energy manipulation (some might call it magick)?

However, the entire time I was contemplating all of these potential discoveries of my true Will, I was writing. I was writing every contemplation, every thought, every emotion, every energetic experience. And when I was done writing that, I wrote some more, even if it was the same thing over and over again.

Of course, while it’s been lingering in my background for so long, being such a strong part of my life, I hadn’t even realized it:

My Will is to Write

Breaking down Crowley’s Greeting/Response (to my interpretation) –

Do As Thou Wilt Shall Be the Whole of the Law

It’s a reminder that if one is not following their Will, then they are not following their correct path. It is more of a question, a hope, perhaps. The Will shall be the whole of the Law. There is no other Law than to follow a person’s true rive, a person’s true Will.

Love is the Law, Love Under Will

The response is a blessing. The ultimate Law is to Love. One cannot find love and happiness if they are not following their Will. May you find Love under your Will. May your Will bring you to Love. Love’s many aspects – love of life, love of the self, love of others, Universal love, love in its truest and purest form.

If your Will does not bring you to Love, then you are not following the Law.

And so, my mantra that reminds me to keep going, that has rushed me into school so swiftly, the thing that will get me through the next few trying years, is the reminder that my Will shall be the whole of the Law, and that Love is the Law, that my will should lead me to Love.

Do As Thou Wilt

Leave a Reply

