Writer Who: Liebster Award

Liebster Award

I had seen others get nominated, or as a perused comments seen some one tell a blogger that they had nominated that blogger for this award. I had no idea what it actually way, but any form of nomination sounded exciting and fun.

Then on Friday, March 14th, Marshinator12 of Young Writer’s Anonymous left a comment on one of my posts.

The day had arrived! A nomination! At just a day shy of a month of continuous blogging, arrived!

As you may know, the award itself is not a huge deal, but rather, something to help blogs get known. I fully appreciate that. I think my excitement is more about being invited to play in the game. I’m not so much the new kid, I can go and play kickball.

Now, I had to hunt around a little bit to find out exactly what this meant, what is the Liebster Award? I finally found a blog which listed all the rules – whether it’s the original or not is an entirely different matter. But, I found it on Wording Well, and the rules are as follow:

  1. You do not have to accept it
  2. Thank your nominator and link back to them
  3. Nominate 5 blogs that have less than 3,000 followers

The next instructions vary, I don’t think the nominee is expected to do it all

  1. Nominee posts a question and answer about themselves
  2. You can create your own set of questions for the next nominees to answer
  3. Write 11 random facts about yourself

There are certainly a lot of different ways to respond to this award, many f them I didn’t relay simply because I couldn’t mentally figure out how to organize them. But either way, I will follow the example left for me on Mashinator’s Award Post, and I’ll just go from there.

11 Random Facts About me

  1. I have not cut my hair in 9 years
  2. I haven’t had my natural hair color since I was 15 (I’m now 27)
  3. I have a duel citizenship between the UK and US
  4. I have been pierced 33 times, but currently only have 17 that are usable
  5. I completed my first novel when I was 20, self published it and hate it. I try not to mention it too much
  6. I see locations in colors – San Francisco is golden orange, Liverpool is lime green, Seattle is grey with a touch of sky blue, and Bellingham, where I’m from is orange
  7. I used to read tarot, and was alright at it, though now I only read for myself
  8. I am horrendously afraid of flying. Not heights, but just being in a large commercial metal tube with wings.
  9. I cross the Atlantic ocean twice every two years, at the very least. This year I went over twice in 6 months. On average I fly at least twice in a year.
  10. I love bars in the US but hate pubs in the UK. I find the latter depressing. I’m not entirely sure why.
  11. I hate the word “Epic”.

The next step is I get to answer the questions that were put out for the nominee (that’s me!)

  •  If you were a tree (i.e. stationary and silent, but still conscious), where would you want to be planted?
    Anywhere in the Northwest. There would be lots of tree friends for me, and they do call this the evergreen state for a reason. Most specifically, I’d like to be on Chuckanut Mountain, which overlooks the bay and the San Juan Islands, and I would always be able to catch the sunsets. And, we have a pretty plentiful array of squirrels here, that are happy to spread any nuts, seeds or whathaveyou.
  • On a scale of 1-10 (One being “Love them;” Five being “I sometimes want to undo the top button after large meals;” and Ten being “I’d rather rip them off in public and walk around in my undies!”), how much do you hate pants?
    I’d give it a 7. I appreciate pants, I don’t like my legs touching, and pants do a pretty good job of being the buffer there. However, they are generally the first to remind me when I have gained weight, so for that they were docked a couple points.
  •  Have you ever noticed how terrifying squirrels look up close?
    No more terrifying than dogs or cats, but neither of them have tiny little hands.
  • What book would you like to be written into?
    This is a good one. My first thought is Gone With The Wind, simply because I want to experience what old Georgia used to be. But I think I would actually like to be written into The Black Jewels trilogy by Anne Bishop. It’s a pretty fantastic world she creates. It’s not often you read about a character named Saetan and want to hug him.
  • What is the oldest item in your fridge? Why haven’t you thrown it away?
    My boyfriend’s weed chocolated. I think it’s pretty self explanatory as to why they haven’t been thrown away.
  • Your favorite condiment is what?
    I generally don’t like condiments. But hoisin sauce is pretty good, if not Bragg’s Amino Acids
  • Getting a tad personal: Who is the most interesting person you have ever kissed?
    My current guy. He’s a movie-maker, after all!
  • What ice cream flavor best describes you as a person?
    Espresso. I don’t really have a reasoning for it. I just really like espresso ice cream.
  • Are you having anything interesting for dinner tonight?
    Ha! I hadn’t even gotten as far as considering what to have to breakfast! My guess is probably not.
  • Have you ever accidentally set anything on fire? If so, what?
    No, though my mom did when she was a kid – she nearly burned her house down, and my boyfriend did when he was a kid as well, though it was old growth trees. They both realize how those incidents could have been avoided.
  • If you could get a tattoo, what would it be and why? If you already have one or more, what are they and their significance?
    I have three tattoos. I have the triple moon Goddess on my back, the Left Eye of Horus on my left arm, and a sprouting seed on my right.tattoo
    The triple moon is due to my observation of the natural cycles of the moon, my respect and appreciation of Diana, and a representation of being Pagan. I was also 18. You gotta get a tattoo when you’re 18.
    The Left Eye of Horus I got when I was in Amsterdam. I was in my last month of being 21, and I was in Amsterdam – and the European continent for the first time. I had been studying sacred geometry and the left eye of Horus was to remind me to keep learning.
    The last one, the sprouting seed, has a little bit of a story behind it. My birthday is 12.21. For anyone following the 2012 hype, the end of the world was meant to be 12.21.2012 – my birthday. My boyfriend and I were meant to go to Egypt for it, go to the Great Convergence festival happening at the pyramids. It got a little too dangerous, so two weeks before we were due to leave, we had to cancel. I believe that the 2012 thing was about new beginnings. So the day after my birthday I went and got what I believed to represent that best.

Those were good questions, I don’t know that I can come up with anything better, or more entertaining to answer. I will give it a shot though:

  1. Do you drink? What is your alcohol preference?
  2. If you were a tree, what kind would you be and why?
  3. What is your favorite thing to find – be it in a store, on the street, in the woods, etc
  4. Do you have houseplants? Why? Why not?
  5. What was the last major goal you met?
  6. Do you consider yourself environmentally conscious? If so, what measures do you take?
  7. Why do you blog?
  8. What’s the most interesting place you have visited?
  9. Given the opportunity, would you travel to space?
  10. If you could make a documentary about one topic, what would it be?
  11. Do you plan on making contributions to change the world? How?

I’m not going to lie…I might use those for future blog prompts.

Ok, so the last list, I promise. Here are my nominees:

~SatanicViews for being unique, informative, and true to the self
~Jane’s Illustrated Erotic Sex Blog – actually for the same reasons as the above – for being unique, informative and true to the self. (Though, head’s up – very explicit. If you can’t handle graphic, you’ve been warned)
~Unload and Unwind – I have to admit, I’m hooked the antics of her cat. And she helps me to be learned about the ways of the land downunder. A delight of a blogger!
~Jedi Hedge Knight – finding the path that is true to the self. It’s a personal one, but following along with another can help bring insight as well.
~Creative Ideas for Starving Artists – well, I think the reasoning is in the title of the blog 😉

That’s it! I have done my awarding duty! Thank you again for the nomination, thank you for reading through it, and thank you everyone that has supported me thus far!

5 thoughts on “Writer Who: Liebster Award

  1. That was great! Thanks for doing it, it’s always fun to learn new things about fellow bloggers.

    I have to ask… How did you end up studying ancient geometry in Amsterdam? That one is pretty interesting.

    Like

    • I had to go back and re read what I wrote to figure out what you were talking about. Ha ha! In general, I was studying sacred geometry, on my own. A personal interest of mine 🙂 I was visiting Amsterdam when I got the tattoo 🙂 I could only wish my story was as interesting as studying ancient geometry in Amsterdam

      Like

  2. Pingback: Wow – The Liebster Award Makes a Return. | Unload and Unwind

Leave a Reply

