Spring Is Here!

I saw a fully blooming Rhody yesterday. It kind of shocked me. Almost offended me with its bright colors on the grey day. How dare it blind me with its cheerful embrace of spring! I felt more jealousy than offense, since our rhodies haven’t bloomed yet. But then again, we have only just liberated them from the restrictions of years of prickly, suffocating blackberry bushes taking over their branches.

Oh yeah, would you like to see all the work my boyfriend and I did? – well, mostly my boyfriend. But still, I was definitely sore the next day.

¬†You can see our piles of brush. You couldn’t see the other side of the growth before, and the rhonie looked like it was just a large part of the prickly mess.

I gave up soon after. I’d spent most of my time on my knees under the bush trying to get the – I don’t know what they were, perhaps salmon berries? They were growing all around the branches of the rhodie, but with really strong roots. We still have to dig them out, but we might have to wait until we have a shovel.

My boyfriend did a great job, he pulled out the rest of that tall grass and finished up all the way to the fruit tree along the side of the house. This place will look really nice once we’re done with it. I’m pretty excited, though we still have a lot of work ahead of us.

Signs of spring are still about. Someone was kind enough to plant some daffodils – which are my absolute most favorite spring-time flower.

And as it turns out, we have two fully blooming bushes of – whatever this beautiful, pink flowering bush is. When it first started blooming, based on the look of the flowers, I thought they were wild roses, though realized that no other part of it resembled wild roses at all.

The whites of the fruit trees are scattering about, and soon, in Bellingham, it will be the best season of all – cherry blossom season. So many roads in Bellingham are lined with trees with thick branches that produce those fantastic little pink-petaled flowers. They blow all over the street so it is just a pink carpet all over town.

And I’m not even a fan of pink!

Thank goodness for the color that has finally arrived!

Leave a Reply

