Ain’t No Thang

I think I’m starting to get the hang of my Journalism class. I know – quite a turn-around from the last entry about journalism.

Over the week we were supposed to interview someone we knew, find the story about that person, and then today, write it up, or at least the draft of it.

I was concerned. I interviewed G, who throws a local festival. It had been rumored that this would be the final one, which is what I wanted my story to focus around. Since it’s been a while since we saw each other, our conversation kept going on bird walks, and when people began stopping by, it became increasingly difficult to stay on topic.

With only a page and half of notes, I was worried I wouldn’t have enough to write about, and when I arrived in class and our instructor relayed that she wanted the story to be at 500 words, give or take, I knew I wouldn’t be able to make it.

The last writing assignment she had us write was meant to be the same length, though most of us struggled to make 300 words, and I barely made it past 200 with the information that was given.

The entire class was just to write our story.

But with minimal effort, I found my means of organizing my story. I wrote out all the direct quotes on a piece of paper, and decided from there what would be my first quote. From there it was easy to formulate the story.

The hardest part was logging onto the computer system, which took me an hour and a half. I spent part of the time hand writing and organizing, then the last part of the class just putting it onto the computer so I could email it to myself and hand in the printed draft.

I even double-checked with my very specific Journalism prof about my Lede, since I thought it to be a bit wordy. She looked at it, and said I could possibly rearrange it if I really wanted, but it was fine as is for the most part.

I was thrilled when I heard this. The Ledes have have been my hang-up so far.

I managed to get my draft printed and emailed. I’ll be taking it home and pondering it to see how I can tweak it, but overall, I think it’s alright, and I’m feeing confident.

And! We got our vocabulary quizzes back and I didn’t do as horrendously as I had thought I’d done, which was a definite confidence boost. 9 out of 10!

Leave a Reply

