A Heartfelt, Tough, Dreadfill Decision Made

I made a difficult, though perhaps spontaneous decision the other day. It still am uncertain as to how I feel about it, but it’s too late at this point.

Some might scoff, thinking I’m making a mountain out of an anthill, and perhaps, in the larger scheme of things, I am. However, until you have made the journey of the particularly relevant choices I’ve made, you won’t understand. And considering what this blog is based around to boot!

Here it goes.photo 1photo 2

The day before yesterday I invited my friend over. I made her dinner, we drank some local mead from the Honey Moon in Bellingham, before sitting down together to begin a difficult task together. Thank goodness for my friend, because I don’t think I could trust anyone else with this task.

The evening was warm, the sun was out, and when it came down to it, it was either laugh or cry (on my part).

We began to cut my dreads.

 

Dreadlocks have bphoto 5een somewhat of an identity to me, a means of expressing myself, letting people know my stances without having to express them. It was something I always wanted to do, and a show – if to no one but myself – that I could start a task an follow it through for the long-haul. I had always wanted dreads that covered my back, and I did it. It was tricky, it was tedious, but I did it.

I have had them for five and a half years, and hadn’t even had my hair cut in nine years. This decision was a huge one, and while I’m still not certain as to how I feel about it, I have enjoyed how quickly my hair dries, so far.

 

There’s a good chance I would start the journey over again, maybe in a few years. But for now, I’m contented just let my hair go back to what it was.

 
photo 4 photo 3 photo 6
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

