Writer Who: Opening Doors

It’s been a long time since I’ve done a Wednesday-specific Theme, and today I finally feel inspired to attempt to start them again.

Wednesdays I want to focus on the whole goal of everything I’m doing – this blog, going to school, waking up willingly at the crack of dawn – to be a writer.

Of course, as many writers might sympathize, the inspiration/willingness to write comes and goes in waves, sometimes being put on the back burner for a more peaceful time, or for when the head isn’t so full of other distracting things.

While I have always said I want to be a writer, I certainly go through inspirational highs and lows. Sometimes I think this shall just be a cute hobby I’m known for, while other times I am outraged at my dismissal of the passion I have for the written word. After all, I am a believer in the True Will, and that happiness shall be obtained by no one if they do not acknowledge and follow where their Will takes them.

My focus has been to write, regardless of whether I actually have been writing. That is what this blog is about, that is why I am working so hard for consistent A’s in school – and going to school in the first place. I want to write, and I want to give myself every opportunity I can to ensure that is where my life leads me – and if it means going into insane debt for a piece of paper which states my scribblings are worth a glance from a publishing company then so be it. It is my Will.

That being said, some interesting events have been tumbling into my lap in the last week. And by interesting events, I mean opportunities. Aside from the fact that I found it in myself to write at all so soon after the…we’ll say emotional disturbances…I was dealing with is miraculous in my world (it usually takes me 9 months to a year at best to be able to look at a computer or keyboard or pen – anything which might ask me to write), I think that there are signs that are indicating that I’m on the right (write?) path.

This week I have had a  person that I don’t talk to if at all about anything other than writing, and usually only around the time of National Novel Writing Month. He got ahold of me the other day and told me about a project that he had been asked to be a part of and asked if I wanted to be a part of it as well. I don’t want to go into too much detail in case it doesn’t pan out, however it does involve a group of writers creating many compilations of short stories.

A couple days later, I had an experience at my little cheese stand. Talking about cheese always leads on to some interesting discussions, surprisingly enough. A common question I’m asked is if I make the cheese – which I don’t, as long-standing readers might recall when I got this job. However, a customer asked if this was my only job and I explained that I am a full-time student and working towards being an English Major – and so on and so forth. As we talked I found out that he has written novels, was a journalist for many years and is always looking of peer reviews and how to self publish and the like. So we exchanged email addresses and hopefully will be helping each other to hone in our skills.

Another person who I have been spending a bit of time with is also a writer, and we have a great many plans to do the same.

These things may not seem like much, but I don’t come across many writers who are attempting to do something with their writing – at least, not people I know in person. All of a sudden everyone is coming out of the woodwork, and all I see it as is encouragement to continue on, find and accept support where it is offered, and refrain from saying no to potential opportunities.

 

Leave a Reply

