Uninspired Essay – Using the Past to Fix it

I’ve been stuck on this essay – well, I say stuck, but truly I mean uninspired…..I say “uninspired” but really I mean procrastinating. While I have enjoyed the concepts behind Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, and I really enjoyed reading from the creature’s perspective, I’ve been at a loss as to what to write about.

The problem is that I’m too bound up in the idea of something different. I know that she reads dozens of essays a quarter and I would like to provide something different and interesting. So my first thought was the effects of forced solitude vs. voluntary solitude of Dr. Frankenstein and the creature, and how one lead to a brilliant evolution and development of philosophical contemplation (the creature), and the other lead to his own demise. I was even going to start or finish or figure out a way to break the paper up with an Ode to Solitude (an extra credit assignment).

But as I got closer to the end of the book, my idea was having cracks and chipping into such minute pieces that they were falling into nothingness.

However, one of the alternate titles for the book is The Modern Prometheus, which got me thinking about the papers I was writing for my English 102 class last quarter. We talked a lot about philosophical ideas, including Prometheanism and Anti-Prometheanism, and I realized that I could draw from my notes from last quarter and write an excellent paper. I even have the entire thing mapped out…I just have 36 hours to get it written and edited and turned in.

The moral of the story is that it’s very useful to keep notes from past classes – you never know what information you might be able to revisit to help you in current/future classes.

Leave a Reply

