Philosophical Debate

I’m certainly having a problem. I have certainly fallen in love, and it’s s much of a bad idea – yet I can’t help but pursue it.

I think I’m in love with Philosophy – and I blame Frankenstein.

Ok, so it’s not all Mary Shelley’s fault – in fact, it’s not her fault at all. After all, she didn’t make me read her book. However, I did have to write an essay on her story of the scientist that created a human being from dead parts. At first, my idea was going to be the effects of solitude, and examine how it lead to Dr. Frankenstein’s demise while it contributed to the positive aspects of his creature’s growth. I didn’t think I could write a full enough paper on that topic alone – but I did like the idea of writing on Prometheanism.

This was something we actually talked quite a bit about in my English 102 class, and so I went through my notes to jog my memory on the concept.

My god. My God. MY GOD – I nearly broke my brain.

Every philosopher we went over could be linked and woven into Frankenstein. At this rate, I was going to write a novel. While I initially had ideas to tie the book into Meillassoux, Toscano, Judith Butler, and Graham Harman, I was having a very hard time figuring out how to organize it. I did what I always do, and just started writing, deciding to organize it later. I took one portion of Meillassoux’s idea and before I knew it I had 14 pages….so I stopped.

Since then I have been sucked into reading Robert Anton Wilson’s Quantum Psychology, have been listening to “The Partially Examined Life” podcast, and can’t stop seeing philosophical connections everywhere….I think I have a problem. I think I have a love and that love is philosophy.

I knew this would happen. I really did. I always told myself I would never take a philosophy class because I would love it too much and the Gods saw fit to trick me – providing me a philosophy class guised as an english class and I fell for it!

Maybe it is just a phase, a puppy love, if you will. A momentary infatuation. Next quarter I’ll e taking Linguistics, and perhaps – just perhaps, it will show me a better path.

Gods have mercy on my educational wants.

Leave a Reply

