Studying For Finals

This for some reason is a lot more stressful than I recall for the last two quarters.

Really the grade that I’m most concerned about is my French grade, as I can’t actually see it, so I don’t know what it is before my Final. However, the test that I’m dreading the most is my Math test. All these One-to-one functions, logarithms, natural logarithms, and trigonometry is freaking me out. While I barely grasped the concepts enough to get my through the weekly quizzes and tests, my brain is absent of any inkling of how to do any of it, and I don’t think I have enough space on my 3×5 notecard for all the helpful hints I need.

Yesterday was Thanksgiving, and for this week our school was kind enough to give us Wednesday, Thursday and Friday off. However, this comes on the eve of Finals week. The good news is that we have a 5 day weekend to study, but the bad news is that it’s a time we’re meant to be spending with out families.

I’m quite annoyed at this new schedule they’ve decided for us for the winter. Next week is only three days long – well, for me, any way – just enough to complete our finals, and then we begin a 5 week break. That is entirely too long of a break to have over Christmas. We live in Washington State, it’s miserable here in the winter. Why not let us start two weeks later in the fall like the rest of the colleges and have longer Summer break?

Anyway, enough of my complaining. Back to my attempt to study and retain math, back to my regurgitation of verb conjugations in French, and back to my contemplation over what the hell I should be writing my final essay on in my British Lit class (It can be on anything we have read over the quarter – which I’m fairly sure is some 100 poems, a hand full of short stories and of course Frankenstein and Hamlet  – and I don’t think I can get away with writing on the latter two again).

Wish me luck, and to all of those facing finals this week and/or next, good luck!

Leave a Reply

