To My High School Self:

Hey kid.

I just thought I’d write you and let you know to keep up doing what you’re doing. You made some bad calls, and some good ones. But those calls contributed to who I am today, and I’m pretty certain you’d be proud of me, even if what I’m doing goes against some of your beliefs.

Your idea to travel after high school – great idea. You’ll be in for some really rough patches, but it will pay off in the end.

I know that you desperately want to drop out of high school and not play into the system – I get and respect that. But even if you finish with piss-poor grades, do yourself the favor and keep at it. Keep skipping class too – I promise it doesn’t make the difference in the long run, if you play your cards right.

You don’t believe in going to college to get a degree to write – and I still agree with that. Why on earth should we spend thousands of dollars for a piece of paper that says we can be creative with words? But, believe it or not, I, a month shy of turning 28, am enrolled in College – well, the community college –  and I’m going for an English degree. Can you believe it? You hate writing essays and that was the whole reason you didn’t want to go for an English degree, and that’s actually the thing that made me want to go for it. Out of nowhere I discovered a love for writing essays.

But things are different now. None of this 5 paragraph structured crap. It’s just a matter of ensuring that your ideas are somewhat organized and flow. You got that one in the bag, but you kind of acquired that skill from Hubpages. It’s a writing platform online you get into when you’re about 24 or 25. It really shaped the way you write. It’s a good thing to embrace.

Not only are you going for an English degree, but you’re a tutor in the Writing Center. To get that you have to have some decent grades – and you do. You have passed every English class so far with more than a 100%. In fact, you have a 4.0 GPA. Yes. You. You, who skipped classes, smoked copious amounts of pot in high school and vowed to do whatever it took to be a writing (starving writer, even). You manage to get and maintain a 4.0.

Here’s the kicker. Here’s the thing that’s going to make your jaw drop. As of today, November 28, 2014 – You are enrolled in an Honors Program at the college, and you’re in Phi Theta Kappa, an Honors Society as well.

Yeah, you might be disappointed that you wound up back in Bellingham. But I promise that it’s a good thing. You need it, as you’ll see as the journey goes on. However, you’ll find your way back out of the Bellingham bubble and out into the world again. I have plans to study at a University in England. Who knows, maybe that plan will change with the advancement of my French and I will study in France, or Belgium, or Morocco.

But I wanted to say thank you, you little snot-nosed punk. Everything you did and will do got me to where I am today, and so I say keep it up. Keep doing what you’re doing. Make wise decisions, but don’t forget to keep living. Remember to experience, but don’t be reckless. Get your energy out so that you can focus when it counts.

Keep up the good work you wanna-be high school drop out. Just don’t drop out.

Sincerely, Present Self

One thought on “To My High School Self:

  1. As your Mum you make me very proud! That piece made me cry, but very proud. You smoked copious amounts of pot………….??!

    Like

Leave a Reply

