I hate the word “Revenge”

revenge

The story I’m working on is somewhat that of….getting back, of attempting to right wrongs that were done unto the characters. But I hesitate to use the word “revenge”. To me it denotes a very superficial tone, that of middle or high school girls getting back at one another. It seem juvenile, and without depth.

How can one portray a story that is for the most part about getting back at someone, or rather, ensuring they get their comeuppance without sounding like a whiny middle school girl?

Retribution is a great replacement word that was suggested to me, and it does sound deeper, though I’m still not certain that’s actually what happened.

What perspectives do you have on revenge?

Leave a Reply

