Lenormand and Writing

“Art Nouveau Oracle Deck” Lenormand style cards Published by Lo Scarabeo Torino, Italy

Recently a very dear tarot-reading friend of mine introduced me to the Lenormand style cards. I was intrigued. While I too read tarot (I used to be alright at it, but have lost my touch a bit these days – and am nowhere near as talented as my friend). Tarot has been a useful tool for me in my emotional, spiritual, and creative growth. I use it when I need to know things that are hidden within my subconscious, need to understand a situation, or need help with characters.

The Lenormand style has 36 cards, unlike the tarot which has 78, and each card in a layout is very heavily dependant on its surrounding cards. It’s fascinating to me. It is like learning a new language – learning the words and how their meanings change in context.

So I treated myself the other day. I went into the shop my friend works at and fell in love with the Art Nouveau Oracle.

Now, both my friend and I have never been into oracles….they’re too unstructured. This is great for some, and a lot of people really connect with a deck and love the free form of it, or connect with the specific way the artist intended for the deck to be read. That’s fine. I have always understood Oracles to not follow a straight-forward structure. That being said, I’m not sure how much the Lenormand can be considered an oracle, since it is a structured style of reading, and many decks have been made in the Lenormand image.

I’m still learning to use them, still learning to think in the broader way of the cards, and all the while falling in love with them. Though it has been interesting. Since I’ve had them and been shuffling them and trying to learn them, I’ve been having extremely vivid dreams. The beauty of it all is that it’s been lending inspiration to my writing. From everything from the dreams to the cards, it has definitely been directing my writing.

As mentioned earlier, I have been after you, the reader’s help in trying to decide a certain thing about a character. Still unable to make up my mind on how to continue on, I called up my very dear tarot reader friend. She has known me better than i have known myself over the past 12 years, and usually by talking to her I can sort out whatever is going on in my head. I began telling her little vague bits about my characters, and she began pulling tarot cards. It was shocking how on the ball they were. She began telling me things about my characters that I already knew, and about paths I’d already decided for them. The cards told her about them simply by listening to me.

It really did help, she pulled some more cards that told me more about the characters -again, that I already knew, but didn’t realize how those aspects could direct where the characters would go. Between the two of us, we figured out what would happen, whether she would remember or not, as well as how things would unravel for each aspects.

Divination can be a spectacular tool for writing – especially tarot/lenormand/oracle.

Leave a Reply

