Still Here

I have been avoiding writing – well, in here at least. I’ve been having a hard time with the holidays. It’ snot the holidays themselves but rather – I don’t do well in the cold and in the dark. I don’t do well with social pressures. I don’t do well not being busy!

If you recall, for those of you that have been following me from the beginning, the whole reason I was writing so much at first was because it was winter and I had just been laid off from work. I need to keep myself busy. Writing is a good way to do that. I’m not saying that I haven’t been writing, despite what you might see on here. On the contrary – I am still working on my belated NaNoWriMo challenge. I am at 43,443 words out of 50,000 with a deadline of January 5. I’m almost there!

However, I haven’t known just what to write in here. And when I do think of something, I have myself somewhat grounded – I’m not allowed to write anywhere until I reach my word count goal for the day of my challenge. 1,667 words a day doesn’t seem like that much, and it isn’t. But when you’re trying to tie it into a continuous something that flows, then it’s getting tricky.

So today I’m rebelling against my goal. I have only written a couple paragraphs, but I felt it was time I did some writing on here, even if it is just fluff (and clearly this entry is fluff). I want the world (well, the realm of readers that follow me that is) to know that I am still here and existing.

December 21st was my birthday, Christmas of course quickly followed, and then of course, I’m sure we’re all aware that today is New Year’s day. All the year’s excitement happens for me within a matter of ten days. Well, I say excitement, but really I mean stress and bother. I’m quite a Scrooge. This year I stayed in for Christmas – my Mom was in Wales visiting my grandmother and that was that. So I stayed in, pretended Christmas wasn’t happening and watched horror movies. It was kind of exactly what I wanted. I still engaged in a little Christmas activities, but it was less stressful than it normally is.

But hello world, I am here, and I want to be a part of the blogging community again. Now that all the chaos of the holidays is done, hopefully I’ll be here a bit more. You’re not rid of me yet!

Leave a Reply

