Getting Ahead

I’m nervous about this upcoming quarter. I feel like my classes are going to be much more intense, more demanding. I have Pre Calculus, French 122 (which I’m not too worried about, though I’ve had coworkers in the Writing Center warn me that it’s difficult), and Linguistics. I think that I should do alright in the first two classes – though I am on edge about the math since I struggled so much during my previous math class. However, I’m really, really, really intimidated by. I’m fascinated by it, but because it falls under the Anthropology department, it’s history meets science, and those are two subjects I am not confident in.

On top of that, I am taking a fourth class, an Honors Seminar to hold my place in the Honors Program at the college. It’s a Humanities class, one that my French teacher recommended last quarter. It’s only two credits, and once a week, but I don’t know what the work load is going to be like, and at the end of the day, it’s still a fourth class.

To throw more wood on top of that fire – I begin my Phi Theta Kappa meetings as well. I can’t remember if it meets weekly or bimonthly, but either way, they do projects in the community and the like, so not only will I have the meetings, but I will have whatever things they do to go along with everything. Also, on the Phi Theta Kappa website, there is a thing called Competitive Edge that I’m just learning about (I really wish I would have discovered this weeks ago), where you basically take an only course, writing papers and everything, which gives you a better chance at scholarships and can go on your college resume as well. I’ll be starting that too.

Then of course there’s working in the Writing Center and my once a month Farmers Market goat cheese slinging.

It’s going to be a really hectic quarter. I think I can do it…it’s just going to me a further diminishing of my social and personal life. But it’s all for a good cause, I hear.

Leave a Reply

