11 things to remember how to eat

I have really gotten out of the swing of things – and I don’t mean in this break, I mean since I moved during the summer, since the break up, since everything. I really have gotten out of my good habits. A lot of it is just due to change of environment. Before I was sharing a space with someone who wouldn’t dream of rising before 8, and now I share a space who leaves for work shortly before I do. The change in quarterly schedule makes a difference as well.

However, while my homework habits and the like may have altered, my eating habits should not. It is time to go back to the classics of brain food – Brussle sprouts, brown rice, eggs, nutritional yeast and chia seeds. Granted, of those things that I have listed I only have eggs and rice – but it’s a start until my food stamps come in (At least, I think I have rice).

What I would like to do – what I need to do – is have a weekly planned meal schedule. Prepare at the beginning of the week and have it ready for me to take to school, or heat up for breakfast or whatever.

Things to consider for brain food throughout the day:

  1. Cashews, Almonds – any nut really that hasn’t been overly doused with salt.
    Nuts have that right-kind-of-oil to them – the stuff that makes the brain do push ups. Keeping these in your pocket or where ever to just munch on whenever you think about it can do you a world of good.
  2. Eggs
    I like to just hard boil a whole carton of them and have them ready to go when I leave in the morning. I’ll usually take a couple of them, and munch on one between classes.
  3. Kale chips
    Again, great for snacks. I personally really enjoy simple Kale chips with salt and pepper, but nutritional yeast is great on them too – almost gives them a cheesiness if you do it right.
  4. Brown Rice
    As mentioned before, this is a god starter to the day. I know that we in the Western Hemisphere don’t generally think of rice as breakfast, but it’s slow release carbs, has protein in it, and is easy for your body to process and thus won’t make you feel sluggish throughout your day.
  5. Water
    As if I am one to talk on this one – but remember your water! Tons of it! It keeps your blood flowing to your brain, keeps your body happy, and will ward of sluggishness in body and sleepiness in mind.
  6. Oatmeal
    Not the instant stuff, mind you. But good quality Oatmeal can really get you going and keep you going through the day. Don’t weigh that stuff down with sugar, either! Especially in the winter, oatmeal can really help with your mood as well.
  7. Hemp seeds
    Throw these bad boys into anything. I love them, and will usually chuck a handful into my oatmeal or rice or anything with a sauce. They’re high in calcium, protein, and the same brain oils the nuts above have as well.
  8. Avacado
    The first fruit/veg mentioned. Again with the brain oils. Plus they’re just damn good.
  9. Garlic
    This isn’t so much a brain thing so much as a keep you healthy thing. If you can stomach it, do what you can to eat it raw. I like to make some brown rice and black beans and then I’ll throw minced raw garlic in last. It dilutes the strength of teh taste but still allows me to get the raw nutritional benefits from it. When you’re out in the world, you’re exposed to a lot of different germs, and garlic will help your body fight those puppies off.
  10. Bell Peppers
    I hate them, to be honest. Any sniff of them will render a dish inedible to me. However, I cannot deny their nutritional benefits. They are along the same vein as garlic in that they will help keep a body healthy. They are packed in vitamin C.
  11. Bananas
    I throw this in here because – of course – it’s a fruit, and them things are good for ya – and because they will turn me from raging hungry tyrant to reasonable human being in three minutes. They’re a perfect snack when you’re on the edge and about to eat the person next to you purely because their shoes squeak.
  12. Water
    I know, I said this one. But hot damn! It’s important!

There are more, however, I am about to start my day back at school, and I need to actually eat some of these things before I head out!

Leave a Reply

