Camp NaNoWriMo

On a spur-of-the-moment-I’m-bored-and-on-spring-break spur, I think I’ll participate in Camp NaNoWriMo. We’ll see how well this works.

So Camp NaNoWriMo is slightly different than the main event in November in that you set your own goal for the month, instead of working toward the 50,000 word goal (unless that’s what you’re actually wanting to accomplish in April). You could set the goal to write a thousand words a day for the month, to finish editing and have ready to send off to publishers within the month, or you could set the goal to have a series outlined and ready to start being written the following month. From my understanding, this is Camp NaNoWriMo.

My first thought was that perhaps I might write a sequel to what I wrote in December, but now I’m considering that I should either a) finish editing what I wrote in December and try and have it peer-read by two other people or b)write a couple short stories regarding the characters in the piece I wrote, so that I can better understanding them and ensure that they are portrayed in a manner that does them justice.

I only just realized there was an April camp. I knew they happened, but I thought it was only in August. This one took me by surprise.

Having stayed up fairly late last night, I was surprised at how readily I woke at six this morning…well that’s not true, I woke at six then when back to sleep for another hour. But still, I rose not only with the breaking of the April dawn, but with an idea of the story I was going to start on. If everything goes well, and I’m able to keep to it, I think I’ll be writing a prequel to the novel I wrote in December. So far, I have written 1,300 words of it, though 1,700 if you want to count the words in this blog entry.

Since I’m in school during this camp, and the farmer’s market is starting with weekly regularity this weekend, I’ve set myself the challenge of 20,000 words, instead of 50,000 – which is only 667 words a day. We’ll see how far that gets me. I’ll keep you, dear reader, posted.

Leave a Reply

