Lots of Happenings this Week – Part II

The other thing that happened – well, it’s rather been in the making for a while, I just didn’t want to say anything until it was official – which is now! I am the Vice President of the Creative Videographer Club. The paper work was finally submitted yesterday, and now I’ve got to schedule a meeting to get an orientation and learn what my responsibilities are.

When I said yes to this, I had a car, first of all. Not having one is going to make this slightly more tricky. I also went into this kicking and screaming. The guy who started the club came into the Writing Center last quarter and was looking for me, by name. He said some one referred him to me, saying that I should be in the club. I told him no, that I was done filming. He asked my background, and I told him everything about Think Piece Productions, and also explained that was also the reason why I didn’t want to get into it. He asked to see some of the stuff I’ve done, so I emailed him the links. After he listened to me, he said, “It sounds to me like you do want to do this.” I assured him it wasn’t so.

I left the experience, pretty set on a no. There’s certain aspects of editing I enjoyed, but overall, there were far too many sour experiences to accompany the small nuggets that I had enjoyed.

In my French class, about this time, we watched a documentary. It was The Fog in the Night, a 1950’s French documentary about the internment camps during World War II. It was the most beautiful documentary I have ever seen. Obviously, the content was horrifying, but the way it was filmed, the art and thought behind it, was truly amazing. I realized then that I did want to continue with filming, and that I should be a part of this club.

The guy returned a week later to the Writing Center, and asked if I’d thought about it. I said I had, and asked if he looked at my work. He said he had. I told him I wanted to be a part of the club, and he said, “Good, because I want you to be the VP.” He said that I had the most experience between the two of us. “Really, you should be the president, but I got here first.” Which is fair enough.

It’s this quarter that the club is starting. We haven’t set regular meeting days, but the president, we’ll call him BD, already has some gigs lined up for us to put together.

This is only the beginning of the intensity of this quarter.

Leave a Reply

