Done Gone Got Sick

Ugh, I did it. I got myself sick. Well, no–I tried very hard not to get sick. I went to bed early, I drank lots of water and vitamin tea and ate tons of vegetables. However, the people around me that so kindly coughed into their hands and put them on a surface, wiped their nose before using the keyboard, and so on–those are the ones that gave me their lergy.

I nearly didn’t come to school today. The only reason why I’m here is because I know that I’ll be missing two days in November, and I can’t justify missing more days. That and I need the money for the few hours of work I have today as well. I just can’t talk. My throat hurts too much, I’m trying not to use my vocal chords. I’ve had one class today so far, and I couldn’t tell you what we were talking about–and I was trying so hard to pay attention and keep up! I was hearing the words as they were said, I was putting together the sentences. But I could not for the life of me figure out the ideas he was poking at. I couldn’t comprehend why he was talking so much at us, or what the point behind his words were.

My brain isn’t braining, my throat isn’t throating–am I even here if I can’t participate or function?

I woke up, unable to breathe last night. It took me an hour before I finally found a way that I could sleep somewhat sitting up. As tired as I may be, I factored that into my reasoning when deciding whether or not to come to school today. What else would I do? I wouldn’t sleep because it’s just too difficult with how congested I am. I’d stare at a television that I wished to God would shut up. So if I’m going to do that, then I might as well come to class and get some points for showing up.

Man, I hate being sick.

2 thoughts on “Done Gone Got Sick

Leave a Reply

