Setting in

It still hasn’t hit me yet, that I’ve actually been accepted into a University. When i sent off the application, I was almost certain that for the last year and a half I had been deluding myself. I thought that there was no way that I was actually doing as well as I thought I was, that I was on some huge self importance kick that made me thought that I was able to get into any school that wasn’t the one in my own back yard (sorry Western).

But I did it. Somehow I managed to get into a program that ranks in the top ten in the UK. It baffles me, truly it does. of course I can be the whole “well, the moral of the story is if you work hard” and yadda, yadda, yadda–but I think that’s too cliche.

I truly am amazed by this. I don’t know what to do with this information yet. I mean, Newcastle University is last on my list of schools that I want to get into that I applied for, but it’s still a good school, and one to be proud of. There’s not really anything I can do with this information other than sit on it. I can’t accept, not yet, and I would be foolish to reject it, or stop applying to other schools. I still have Durham University, University of Exeter, University of York, and University of Nottingham to hear back from, and to apply still to Columbia, Cornwall and Stanford.

Can I actually do this?

2 thoughts on “Setting in

Leave a Reply

