Traveling Kitty

Now that the plane tickets are out of the way, the next complicated thing to figure out is just how to get my cat over the pond.

I’m sure some of you are thinking that it’s silly for me to invest so much in bringing my cat over, but know this: that kitty’s my homie. I’ve had him for six years, and next month we will have lived together for seven years (he was originally my roommate’s cat). He’s been with me when jerk boys broke my heart, when chocolate wasn’t doing the trick, and those times when over-consumption got the better of me. Boot is my homie, and it’s not cool to leave a homie behind.

That said, I’ve been looking into what’s required. Now that I’m not flying from Vancouver, it actually gets a lot less tricky. They require quarantine while the UK doesn’t (with a few exceptions). From my understanding, I need to make sure he’s got a microchip ID, he’s up to date with all his shots, he has a follow-up appointment 30 days after his shots, and gets a note from the vet saying that he has a clean bill of health within 10 days of him traveling. Super easy. I don’t know what the cost will be like, but it’s part of my research.

Boot is also not going to be traveling with me. Even if I weren’t going to fly from LA, and was flying from Seattle or Vancouver, it would mean a 2 hour drive to the airport, three hours at the airport, whatever lay-over time there is wherever, then the two-and-a-half hour drive from the airport to Durham. I’ve traveled 24 hours, door to door, trying to get from one country to another. I’m not going to do that to my cat.

So I’m currently looking into just what it is I need to do for my kitty to be shipped to me, where he will meet me after I’ve made the house nice and organized and Boot-friendly.

Leave a Reply

