Another Big Step

This time last year, I was honored by obtaining the Award of Academic Excellency in the English Discipline. Thrilled doesn’t even begin to describe what I felt, given that I didn’t feel that I had done anything to particularly stick out. However, my instructors felt otherwise, and the award fell to me, of which I didn’t think I could top.

IMG_3609

Whatcom Community College’s President, Kathi Hayane-Brown, Ed.D., presenting the 2015/16 Student Awards

It’s amazing. Though I’ve been done at Whatcom Community College for nearly six months, I was still nominated for an award. A few months ago, my boss in the Writing Center informed me that she had nominated me for the President’s Award, though I had to write a two page essay which displayed my leadership abilities, and I only had two hours to do it. I of course hopped to it, sent it in, and then received an email stating that they had extended the deadline.

After quite a bit of time went by, I gave up, thinking that I hadn’t gotten the award, which was fine. There are a lot of really deserving people on this campus, who work hard and do far more than I do.

All the while, I’ve been continuing to work in the Writing Center, as well as the job that I’m miserable at in the coffee warehouse, daydreaming of the day that I move to England, wondering if I’m going to put it off for another year or go this October.IMG_3650

On Monday (the beginning of this week), I was having a particularly annoying day, reminding myself that I only had to survive a few more days at the warehouse job, and then I would be done with it. I was on my lunch break, in a bad mood over something, checking my email as I ran through the grocery store to find something to eat (like the millennial that I am) when I got the email from WCC’s president: I got the Award.

Last night I was presented with it, and thrilled to boot! What’s more, I got to watch some other truly amazing students be awarded as well, including a coworker of mine in the Writing Center who received the same award I did last year.

The good news in all of this, is that it might have lit a fire under my ass, so to speak, and spurred me into making sure that I do go straight into uni this year, rather than putting off a year to get settled in. I’m not 100% sold on it, though I’m a lot closer than I was this time last week. I just want to make sure I keep up my momentum.

IMG_3651

My mom, my boyfriend, and me on our way to celebration drinks

Leave a Reply

