Driving an Airport Shuttle

In an earlier post I mentioned that I’m not lazy–I hope that this goes to show I’m not. I just picked up a replacement third job. Granted, one of my jobs is about to end, so I suppose this will soon turn into my second job.

I just finished my first week, as you may have guessed from the title of this post, an airport shuttle driver. I work for Easy Airport Parking, which is where people can drop off their car before a trip, and then we shuttle them the whole mile and a half to the airport and drop them off, only to pick them back up when they return. It’s quite a nice job, actually. I wish there were more hours to it, as I seem to cap out at 12, but it’s nice. A different experience any way.

My day starts at 6 in the morning, which is fine by me (aside from the fact that I’ve automatically developed the habit of getting up at 3:30 every morning for some strange reason that my body isn’t communicating to my mind), and usually work no later than ten so far. But it’s nice. I get to hear about where people are traveling to, why they’re traveling, and sometimes I even make a tip.

However, I am swiftly approaching the last day at the Writing Center, which is a post for another time, and am valuing more and more my goat cheese gig (as if I ever thought it less than awesome). Sure I’m currently working three jobs that don’t add up to one full-time job, but they’ve all been such wonderful experiences. I’m worried about my ability to get work once I get to the UK.

I suppose I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it though. For now, I am a shuttle driver.

Leave a Reply

