Final Writing Center Days

Today is my last day in the Writing Center. I’m dutifully writing about it during my last shift (cuz I’m responsible like that).

I have had such an amazing experience here. I’ve really enjoyed my time as a writing tutor (ok, we call ourselves Readers, but tutor better describes it), and it’s definitely a job I’m going to miss. I asked if they had writing tutors at Durham that I could get a job with, but by the sounds of it, it’s a volunteer thing. Not that that’s a bad thing, but considering I need to somehow make money and I need to go to school, I don’t think that volunteering is going to be an option.

However, this has presented me with many opportunities to get to know writing styles, different formatting, interesting assignments, and I gained a lot of knowledge simply from reading essays. I’ve gone over poems, short stories, college personal essays, resumes, job applications, speeches, art pieces, movies, class room curriculums, and so on. But I’ve also gotten to know so many people from some many backgrounds. I’ve understand different learning styles, reading styles, and discovered different means of explaining concepts and ideas.

I’ve learned a ridiculous amount about the English language, though I’m barely touching the surface of the complexities of this damn mutt language.

This job has opened up so many opportunities for me: I was a part of developing a mentorship program, I got to speak and the National Conference of Peer Tutors in Writing, and I was nominated by my boss for the President’s Award.

None of this would have happened had I not put myself out there and gotten involved on campus. I cannot believe what a door-opener this was. I simply thought it was a local way of making some money, but it really turned out to be so much more.

I’m sad this is my last shift. I’m sad to see it go. Though I hope that the experience will continue to serve me, and other people as well.

Leave a Reply

