Gearing Up for the Move

It’s 4 a.m., and I’m trying to get things done. But I’m in panic mode now, not really sure what I should be doing, though I know there’s things to be done. This was me yesterday. The difference between today and yesterday is that yesterday was in the evening, this morning I’ve been up since 3, and now I’ve at least eaten and slept–which the former was an impossibility for me while sleeping was like pulling teeth yesterday.

This is what I do right before I come to the big moves. Not moves between housing. Those are simple. This is the pond hop. Technically, I still don’t get over to the UK for another nine days, but I’m going to visit my dad in Palm Springs for a week, and leaving in less than 48 hours. I’m still working every day until then, and trying to figure out how it is I can sleep, clean, pack, get rid of, and all that other nonsense before that time. I think I’ll be forfeiting sleeping.

I’m still looking for a place to live in the vacinity of Durham. It’s proving tough. I have to get up early, 4 or 5 in the morning, so that I can hope for a chance at a conversation via email with a realtor. Thankfully my shuttle driving job has been really understanding with my need to constantly be looking things up and emailing on my phone. Durham is eight hours ahead of us, which means their office hours end at 9 a.m. for me. I have to be quick on the ball.

I’m house sitting, which means I have to move out of this house, get everything to my mom’s, pack and get everything out of there as well. There’s no storage available, so I’m getting rid of just about everything.

It’s Monday morning, and between now and 2 a.m. Wednesday I have to clean, pack, work two shifts, see my grandparents, see my brother, lunch with my boss, breakfast with my friends, dinner with our moms, clean my car, move out of the house I’ve been staying in, transport two guinea pigs from house-sat house to another house, print all the necessary information…I’m sure there’s more. There’s always more.

But here it is, I’m moving.

 

Leave a Reply

