Last night living State side…for now

I’m sitting here with my dad and boyfriend in Palm Springs, enjoying the warm night as I mentally prepare for tomorrow’s journey. 

We have been in Californnia for a week, decompressing–at least on my end–before the biggest part of the move. This has been a very much needed week, not working, not rushing around, just chilling. The day we arrived was my first day off in three weeks, and marked the first time I’ve been jobless since I was laid off in 2014. Since then I’ve maintained at least two jobs during my full-time schooling.

I have only forgotten one thing, so far, that I know of. Mom was able t post it to me, and it arrived today. I also got a letter from my grandparents, giving me their well-wishes on our journey. 

Tomorrow we drive to LA, and hop on the long flight to London. When we arrive, we have to figure out how to get to Europcar from Gatwick, then drive up to Warwickshire. We still don’t have a place to live lined up, nor do I have a job lined up. But we’re taking the biggest step tomorrow. Today I have been riddled with anxiety, and trying to keep myself together. It hasn’t made me for being good company for my dad and the rest of the family, but I think that moving across a continent and an ocean without housing lined up despite months of trying allows me such moodiness. 

It’s hard to believe that in April of 2014, I was just starting this blog, I was just starting my goat cheese gig, and I was vaguely contemplating universities. I didn’t think I was going to be good enough to get into Western Washington university. Then one class changed that perspective, and I started looking higher. Then I started looking abroad. I dokn’t think I could have found a better school. I’m so thrilled I’ve made it this far, and can hardly believe that it’s panning out.

However, I’ll be sad to lose the easy visits at my dad’s and being closer to my niece and nephews, but adventures and education await! You only live this life once!

Leave a Reply

