Coming to Terms with Being in the Village

It’s been interesting being back in this village. I have lived here before, and as the seasons go on, it gets a bit grim. Work stops, people go home and stop visiting, and those who remain either spend all their time in the pub or stay indoors just trying to conserve their money and stay warm.

However, there are a few benefits of staying here for a few months. One of which being that I think it will only inspire my success at uni when I go this time next year. The other is that I can read all the assigned books for next year, and get a head start on it.

However, the other thing that I’m looking forward to being able to participate in is NaNoWriMo. I had given up on that, since I was going to be fully in school and working. But now that I’m just working, and I know the work isn’t going to be abundant, it gives me time to work on my writing, as is always the goal.

I’m tempted to continue on with my story that I started for CampNaNoWriMo, but I think that there is more that I have to experience to be able to make that happen. We shall see. It’s strange what I come up with as the days get closer to the start date.

That being said, I am almost finished editing my NaNoWriMo project from 2014, which was the first one I participated in while writing this blog. Once that’s done, I’ll be looking for Beta readers. It’s rather exciting! Once I get through a round of that, then I’ll try and find my publisher. I’ve got a good feeling about this particular story.

As for being in the village, the weather has been surprisingly nice, and warm. Today we are going to be going for a walk, somewhere. Not sure where. But as long as the sky is blue, we should definitely be taking advantage of it.

 

One thought on “Coming to Terms with Being in the Village

  1. I suspect that the UK weather will be mild and warm until December, then it will change to a harsh winter in Jan as it did earlier this year. I have been lucky to have had little rain in my area, though the plants have been unhappy about this. Having lived in a village in the past I know your experience, though you do get a lot done due to lack of distractions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

