Back in the Swing of Things

I struggle with how to start this post, because the firs thing I want to point out is that yes, I do know it’s been a while. That being said, I start out most of my posts this way. However, I think, perhaps, I should start with an apology. I have atually been avoiding writing because of this weird link between this blog and my Twitter account, where Twitter is posting my Tweets as a blog post, which then in turn posts as a Tweet and onward it goes. I DO NOT KNOW HOW TO STOP THIS. I know it has something to do with IFTTT, or whatever it is, but I have no idea how to disconnect it from my blog. If you do know, please help a lady out!

The other reason I haven’t posted in a long while is because this is my blog that has to do with my higher education. I started it so that I could write about my time navigating through community college and university as a “mature” student. I haven’t been doing anything involving that for over a year, and it didn’t seem right to be writing in here if I wasn’t working toward that goal.

The truth is that after my grandmother passed in November, I felt lost. I really didn’t know what to do, what I should be doing, and I was completely deflated. I didn’t know if I should pack everything up and move back to the States, if I should try for Durham, or if I should do something completely different like move into a camper van and go live in Greece (that was literally a serious thought of mine). However, I have finally come to terms with my next move, and I will be going to Durham this fall.

I didn’t know if I should keep this blog going, actually. I thought about deleting it. I felt like there was too much attached to this blog that I needed to let go, as silly as that sounds. But, in truth, recently it’s been on my mind a lot. What brought it to the foreground of my attention was a woman who commented on an ancient post of mine about cutting off my dreads. I wrote it during my second quarter back in school, almost exactly three years ago. She pointed out something that really made me realize the difference in my thinking now, and m y current understanding of the world we live in compared to my 2014 self. I plan on writing a whole other post responding to that comment, but that’s for a later date.

I recently read an amazing book called The Existentialist Cafe by Sarah Bakewell, which follows the evolution of existentialism and key players like Jean-Paul Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir, Heidegger, Camus, and others. It reminded me how in love I am with philosophy, and why it is that I decided to aim for top-notch universities to begin with.

Hopefully I’ll be better about keeping up on here, and blogging what happens in my world of education. It’s definitely going to be more interesting from now on. Currently, I’m living above a pub, managing the ice cream shack, also part of the pub. It’s alright, and my boss is very willing to let me work on my personal projects as well. But living in this tiny tourist village in North Wales is definitely spurring me onward to get out of customer service.  So that’s what I’m doing.

One thought on “Back in the Swing of Things

  1. Pingback: Writing News | Scribing English All Over The Place

Leave a Reply

