Medical Treatment

I think I mentioned in my update that one of the local surgeries said that I had to call at 8:30 to try and make an appointment for that day, otherwise I wouldn’t be able to get in. I gave that a go this morning, and it was no dice.

So I decided to go to the minor injuries unit a few villages inland (ish), and see if I could get in there. As it turns out, I could, and I did very quickly. I don’t think I could have been in the waiting room for more than five minutes.

I only saw the nurse though, who said it sounded like I had a developing repetitive strain injury. She gave me a new brace, one with metal in it, and sent me on my way.

My co-pilot had been kind enough to drive me, and when I relayed to him what the nurse had said, he said that I needed to find a way to see a proper doctor. He had seen me near tears in pain just from lightly touching my wrist. If there’s the risk that I won’t be able to use my hand or wrist in the future, then I need to get into see a doctor, rather than a nurse.

The plan is that he’ll take me in tomorrow to the one closer to where he lives and go in with me, so he can make sure the extent of the injury is known. The nurse didn’t ask a lot of questions, including how bad the pain is, or how long it’s been going on. Just asked me what I did, and checked my range of motion.

The good news out of all of this is that I saw someone at least, and got  wrist brace, and it’s all taken care of by the NHS. I didn’y have to provide ID, my NI number, insurence, anything. That is what universal healthcare is about!

However, she did say that I’m to rest it, not to do anything with it. Typing this has been a difficulty, but I’m mostly writing this for the practice. There’s no way I”m going to stop writing while this heals. So I’m trying to find the best way to type without pain or any stress to my wrist. It is my right wrist, and I am right handed, so using a pen is somewhat out of the question.

Either way, I’ll try and keep current on here!

5 thoughts on “Medical Treatment

    • I think it depends. In terms of muscles I think that’s the idea so that they heal they way they should, but tendons and Nerves are a whole different matter. I saw another out of hours nurse and she said don’t use it, and get see someone as soon as possible to get a referral for an x ray

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

